Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Sanibel’s Ruane president-elect of the Florida League of Mayors

September 4, 2018
Pine Island Eagle

While attending the recent Florida League of Cities Annual Conference, Sanibel Mayor Kevin Ruane was unanimously elected president-elect by the Florida League of Mayors.

The Florida League of Mayors is an organization for mayors, which was founded and developed by mayors. Governed by a 39-member board of directors, it is staffed by the Florida League of Cities and provides the mayors of Florida with the ability to explore areas of mutual concern and opportunity.

Ruane was appointed to the Sanibel City Council to serve an interim position for a vacant seat in 2007. He later successfully ran for a permanent position on the council, and he was re-elected in 2009 and appointed by his peers as vice mayor in 2009-2010. In 2010, Ruane was appointed as mayor. He was again re-elected in 2013 and 2017, and Ruane is currently serving his ninth consecutive term as mayor.

Ruane has served as the council liaison to the Audit Committee, Traffic Work Group, Redevelopment Project and Sanibel Seniors Board of Directors. He has also served as liaison and alternate liaison to the Planning Commission, Sanibel General Employees' Pension Board, Employee Dependent Scholarship Committee, Contractor Review Board, Community Housing Resources Board of Directors, Community Housing and Resources Coast and Island Community Land Trust, Sanibel Municipal Officers Board of Trustees, Sanibel Captiva Chamber Governmental Affairs Committee, Charter Review Committee and Lee County Tourism Development Council.

He also served as liaison to the Lee County Metropolitan Planning Organization from 2009 to 2016 as treasurer, member and president.

He currently serves as council liaison to the Metropolitan Planning Organization Executive Board as treasurer and was appointed by Gov. Rick Scott to the South Florida Ecosystem Restoration Task Force in 2014. He also serves on the Florida League of Mayors Board of Directors, Florida Municipal Pension Trust Board of Trustees, Florida Municipal Loan Council as a director and Florida Municipal Insurance Trust as a trustee. He further serves as the voting delegate on the Florida League of Cities, as well as on the Florida League of Cities Legislative Policy and Resolutions Committee. He is the liaison to the Southwest Florida League of Mayors, Island Seniors Board of Directors and Traffic Management Work Group.

Ruane was named the 2015 Citizen of the Year by the Committee of the Islands. He was also the 2016 recipient of the National Everglades Coalition James D. Webb award.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web