Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Early voting under way across county

August 22, 2018
By MEGHAN McCOY ( , Pine Island Eagle

Early voting for the Aug. 28 Primary Election began Saturday and runs through Aug. 25 at 10 locations across Lee County.

The closest locations for Pine Island voters are in Cape Coral. The Cape locations include the Cape Coral Elections Office, 1039 S.E. 9th Ave., Cape Coral Lee County Library, 921 S.W. 39th Terrace and Northwest Regional Library, 519 Chiquita Blvd., North.

There is also a voting location in North Fort Myers, at the North Fort Myers Recreation Center, 2000 N. Recreation Parkway.

The polls are open from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. each day during early voting.

The Lee County Supervisor of Elections Office is ready for the primary that includes multiple races for both Republicans and Democrats as well as non-partisan races in which all voters may cast a ballot.

"We had our logic and accuracy test today. Everything tested fine," Lee County Supervisor of Elections Tommy Doyle said Wednesday afternoon.

There are 436,915 registered voters in Lee County - 187,732 registered as Republican, 118,272 as Democrat, 130,911 "others."

The Lee County Elections Office mailed 123,164 domestic mail ballots at the end of July to those who had requested them or previously opted to cast their votes that way.

The office started opening those ballots last Wednesday with 56,972 returned as of Monday morning.

Another 2,828 voters cast ballots via early voting, bring the total to 60,148, including three ballots classified as "provisionary."

Voters who wish to request a mail in ballot still have time to do so before Election Day.

Registered voters still have time to request a mail ballot up until the Wednesday before the election - which is today, Doyle said, adding that voters who wait that long will have to drop off their mail ballots because they must be received by 7 p.m. Election Day, Aug. 28.

He said the Post Office recommends that the vote-by- mail ballots should be sent seven days prior to Election Day. Doyle cautioned that if they are not received by 7 p.m. they are not counted and will never be opened.

Voters should have received a sample ballot in their mailbox, which is inclusive to them. He said there are three ballot styles, Democratic, Republican and Non-Partisan.

"You can go online and see your custom ballot that you would get on Election day, or by mail, or early voting," Doyle said.

Those ballots can be viewed at

One hundred and twenty-seven polling locations will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Election Day, Tuesday, Aug. 28.

The local races on the Primary ballot include:

County-wide Republican primary

races (only Republicans may vote

on the contests):

* United States Senator: Roque "Rocky" De La Fuente and Rick Scott

* Governor and Lieutenant Governor: Don Baldauf; Ron DeSantis; Timothy M. Devine; Bob Langford; John Joseph Mercadante; Bruce Nathan; Adam H. Putnam and Bob White

* Attorney General Fiscal General: Ashley Moody and Frank White

* Commissioner of Agriculture: Matt Caldwell; Denise Grimsley; Mike McCalister and Baxter Troutman

* State Attorney 20th Judicial Circuit: Chris Crowley and Amira Fox

District-only primaries

* Representative in Congress District 17 (Only Republicans residing in District 17 may vote) Bill Akins; Julio Gonzalez and Greg Steube

* State Representative District 79 (only Republicans residing in District 79 may vote) Matthew Shawn Miller and Spencer Roach

County-wide Democratic Primary races (only Democrats may vote):

* Governor and Lieutenant Governor: Andrew Gillum; Gwen Graham; Jeff Greene; Chris King; Philip Levine; Alex "Lundy" Lundmark and John Wetherbee

* Attorney General Fiscal General: Sean Shaw and Ryan Torrens

* Commissioner of Agriculture: Nicole "Nikki" Fried; Jeffrey Duane Porter and Roy David Walker

District-only primaries

* Representative in Congress District 19 (Only Democrats residing in District 19 can vote): David Holden and Todd James Truax

* Representative in Congress District 17 (only Democrats residing in District 17 may vote) April Freeman and Bill Pollard

* State Representative District 76 (Only Democrats residing in District 76 can vote): Neilson Croll Ayers and David Bogner

County-wide, all voters regardless

of party affiliation:

* Circuit Judge 20th Judicial Circuit Group 8: James Wesley Chandler and John Owen McGowan

* County Judge Group 7: Maria E. Gonzalez and David McElrath

* School Board Member District 6 (at large; everyone votes): Nicholas Alexander; Lori Fayhee; Betsy Vaughn and Karen Putman Watson

School Board races, non-partisan,

district voters only

* School Board Member District 1, (Only voters residing in District 1, mostly Cape Coral, Pine Island and Sanibel; regardless of party affiliation): Charles B. Dailey and Mary Fischer

* School Board Member District 4, (Only voters residing in District 4, mostly Cape Coral, North Fort Myers and Dunbar, regardless of party affiliation:) Don H. Armstrong; Debbie Jordan; Louis Navarra and Geraldine "Gerri" Ware

* School Board Member District 5, (Only voters residing in District 5, mostly Lehigh Acres, regardless of party affiliation): Gwynetta "Gwyn" Gittens; Moses Jackson; Pamela LaRiviere; Taruas Pugh and Jon Larsen Shudlick



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web