Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

21 receive scholarships from Holloway Memorial Fund

June 19, 2013
By MEGHAN McCOY ( , Pine Island Eagle

Twenty-one young adults received a scholarship from the Bobby Holloway Memorial Fund last week for a total of $11,000.

"I just want to say how proud I am to have the opportunity to contribute to our Pine Island youth," Bobby Holloway Memorial Fund President Ernestine Holloway Squires said. "The Bobby Fund will continue to support them in any way we can."

She said they are truly making an investment on Pine Island as well as in the youth.

Article Photos

Back row, from left, Bobby Holloway Memorial Fund Board members Derrick Stearns and Thomas Clapp, Brandi Schulte, Courtney Frahm, Jacob Metcalf, Caleb Davis, Jordan Skau, Frank Valcarcel, Paige Snowden, Evan Berlanti and Paul Baker; and front row, from left, Holly Saulsbery, Monique Classen, Kacey Herrin, and board members Ernestine Holloway Squires and Elsie Stearns. Not pictured: Monica Ditch, Lilli Honc, BillyLarrimore, Kelly Green, Alexandra Honc, Michael Marzella, Asa Rees, Morgan Benjamin and Ian Lay.

Picture Provided

"I wish them all the best," Holloway Squires said.

This year's recipients included: University of South Florida student Brandi Schulte, Florida Gulf Coast University student Courtney Frahm, Florida State University student Jacob Metcalf, Edison State College student Caleb Davis, Edison State College student Jordan Skau, Edison State College student Frank Valcarcel, Edison State College student Paige Snowden, Palm Beach Atlantic University student Evan Berlanti, Florida State University student Paul Baker, Stetson University student Holly Saulsbery, Palm Beach Atlantic University student Monique Classen, Florida Gulf Coast University student Kacey Herrin, University of Florida student Monica Ditch, Edison State College student Lilli Honc, Brevard Community College student Billy Larrimore, Boston College student Kelly Green, Edison State College student Alexandra Honc, University of Florida student Michael Marzella, Southeastern University student Asa Rees, Florida Southern University student Morgan Benjamin and EMT School student Ian Lay.

Board member Derrick Stearns said it is an honor to be a part of the Bobby Holloway Memorial Fund. He said he plans to continue to work hard to raise money and support the students for many years to come.

"We hope the students will continue to come back to let us know how they are doing," said Elsie Stearns, treasurer of the board. "It is a way of inspiring young adults to keep in touch and have that community spirit in their hearts while away at school."

She said they ask the scholarship winners to come back and help them out during the Bobby Holloway Memorial Fishing Tournament if they are in town.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web